top of page

Natura 2000
protected Archipelago

Aerial Meganisi (42).png


The Ionian islands of Lefkada, Ithaki and Kefalonia and continental Greece (Sterea Ellada), from West, North, and East the site, including the coasts of Meganisi and islets such as Arkoudi, Kithros, Skorpios, Skorpidi, Sparti, Madouri, Formikoula, Atokos, Kalamos, Kastos and Vromonas, delimit the inner Archipelago of the Ionian Sea geographically.

The geomorphology of the Ionian islands' coasts plays a crucial role in creating diverse habitats for both marine and terrestrial flora and fauna. In the sheltered waters of the Archipelago, key marine predator species positioned at the top of the food chain are either resident or common, indicating the islands' significant contribution to the region's biological richness. Notably, the presence of Delphinus delphis, with one of its last 3-4 spot populations in the entire Mediterranean, underscores the islands' importance in marine conservation.

Natura 2000
bottom of page